SWNT trio join Euro 2017 preparations...

Women's International Challenge matches

Scotland v Romania Falkirk Stadium, Falkirk Friday, 9 June 2017, kick-off 7pm

Sweden v Scotland Myresjöhus Arena, Växjö, Sweden Tuesday, 13 June 2017, kick-off 6pm (5pm UK time)

Anna Signeul has added three players to her initial 20-strong squad for the forthcoming International Challenge matches against Romania and Sweden. Chloe Arthur, Vaila Barsley and Joelle Murray will join up with the squad when it gathers on Monday as the team enters the latest phase of its preparation for the UEFA Women’s Euro 2017 finals in Netherlands.

“We are pleased to be able to call on these three players,” said Anna Signeul. “Vaila did very well in her debut against Belgium last month and we want to give her another opportunity to stake her claim for a place in the squad for the Euros. “We are very happy to have Joelle return to fitness after missing the last match, while Chloe has done very well for Bristol during the spring and we are excited to have her in the squad." One player who will not join the squad next week is Arsenal midfielder Kim Little, who ruptured an ACL in training last week. Anna Signeul had hoped to name the 117-times capped playmaker as one of the three additions to the squad this week, but she is now set to miss this summer’s tournament following the injury. “We are devastated for Kim to pick up a serious injury at such a bad time, and we wish her well in her recovery and hope to see her back in a Scotland jersey soon,” said Anna Signeul. “The important thing for Kim now is to concentrate on returning to full fitness. She is young and will have the chance to represent Scotland at other major championships in the future. “Losing a player like Kim is obviously upsetting for the team but we will continue to focus on our preparations for the Euros as planned to ensure that we make the nation proud.”

Scotland squad


Gemma Fay (Stjarnan) 197 caps Lee Alexander (Glasgow City) 0 caps Shannon Lynn (Vittsjo GIK) 24 caps


Vaila Barsley (Eskilstuna United) 1 cap Jennifer Beattie (Manchester City) 107 caps Frankie Brown (Bristol City) 85 caps Rachel Corsie (Seattle Reign) 87 caps Ifeoma Dieke (Vittsjo GIK) 118 caps Joelle Murray (Hibernian) 41 caps Kirsty Smith (Hibernian) 22 caps Rachel McLauchlan (Hibernian) 3 caps


Chloe Arthur (Bristol City) 6 caps Leanne Crichton (Glasgow City) 49 caps Erin Cuthbert (Chelsea) 7 caps Lisa Evans (FC Bayern Munich) 58 caps Hayley Lauder (Glasgow City) 82 caps Joanne Love (Glasgow City) 175 caps Leanne Ross (Glasgow City) 130 caps Caroline Weir (Liverpool) 35 caps


Fiona Brown (Eskilstuna United) 16 caps Lana Clelland (UPC Tavagnacco) 13 caps Christie Murray (Doncaster Rovers Belles) 46 caps Jane Ross (Manchester City) 103 caps

Report & Picture: Scottish FA